Focused on the user

Network intelligently: mill and turn more efficiently with Connected Machining

Uniformly digital networked production is also topic number one at AMB 2018, with HEIDENHAIN placing special emphasis on the user in the shop. 

The Connected Machining package of functions places the user at the center of digital job management via the control.

Connected Machining in practice

  • View PDF, CAD, and image files directly on the control. All you need is a simple Ethernet connection to your HEIDENHAIN control. The required viewers are already included in the control’s standard features. 
  • Send and receive e-mails, or use applications and data in the network—all directly from the control. The REMOTE DESKTOP MANAGER makes it easy and convenient to switch from the control’s screen to a Windows PC interface. 
  • Always maintain an overview of the status of your machine tools and jobs. The StateMonitor software provides a real-time view of your connected machines and increases the transparency of your processes. 
  • Is your production process running faster than anticipated? Then your ERP and production-activity control systems need to be informed so that logistics, for example, can be adapted as needed. Over the HEIDENHAIN DNC interface, you can integrate the control with these areas of your networked production environment as well.

New at AMB: Extended Workspace Compact

Right next to the screen of your HEIDENHAIN control, Extended Workspace displays all of the information and applications you need. As of AMB, it will be available in two variants:

  • On a 24” widescreen monitor, Extended Workspace Compact is a new page area. It provides a view of additional information directly next to the normal view of the control’s screen.
  • Extended Workspace Comfort is the new name for the familiar solution with an additional monitor beside or above the actual control screen.

With both solutions you work within the network without losing sight of the machining process.

The advantages of Connected Machining

Connected machining connects HEIDENHAIN controls to all production-related areas of your company and features the following characteristics: 

  • Individual adaptation to already existing structures
  • Openness for future requirements and developments

You benefit from the following:

  • Work made simpler thanks to the easy utilization of data
  • Time-saving workflows
  • Lean, transparent processes
  • Increased productivity

Don’t miss our live demonstrations

10:30 a.m. and 1:30 p.m.

“Milling: Versatile machining with the TNC 640 through high-performance technologies”

11:30 a.m. and 2:30 p.m.

“Turning: Complex machining operations at the push of a button with the CNC PILOT 640”

To help you avoid missing the presentations you would like to attend, we have set up a text-message reminder service for you. You will receive a text message thirty minutes prior to the start of your chosen live demonstrations, allowing you enough time to reach the HEIDENHAIN booth (2D03 in Hall 2) through all the hustle and bustle of the trade show.

Go to the reminder service

Hidden defenders; the new sensor box for intelligent motor protection

Torque motors are at considerable risk of overheating when their windings are subject to asymmetric current distribution. In certain machining situations, the temperature of a single winding can skyrocket so suddenly that conventional monitoring systems are unable to react quickly enough. The EIB 5200 sensor box detects these temperature spikes with great speed.

Skiving; a shop trend

Skiving is the current trend when it comes to the machining of internal gear teeth. The new gear skiving cycle for the TNC 640 greatly simplifies the programming of the complex processes involved.

What’s more, the gear skiving cycle doesn’t come alone. Joining it are the new shop-oriented functions for hobbing and defining the gear teeth.

The new gear-machining cycles at a glance:

  • Gear skiving
  • Gear hobbing
  • Define gear

Your benefits:

  • Ease of programming
  • Efficient machining in milling and turning mode
  • Lift-off protection feature

More information

Kickoff at AMB 2018: The new Partner Automation program

HEIDENHAIN controls fulfill all prerequisites for providing flexible automation solutions in production processes. In addition to the many years of activities in the automation technology business together with numerous machine tool manufacturers, HEIDENHAIN is therefore now offering its own program for automation partners, including an on-line platform.

 

HEIDENHAIN Partner Automation stands for solutions with smooth cooperation between machine tools and robots, pallet systems, and other automation tasks. Companies planning on automating their production processes can find qualified partners and interesting sample solutions to their projects on the on-line platform, where they can also submit project inquiries.

To the HEIDENHAIN Partner Automation on-line platform

Become informed in a relaxed atmosphere: welcome to the TNC Club Lounge!

The TNC Club Lounge from HEIDENHAIN is the meeting place for all TNC users who are keen on gaining exclusive advanced knowledge and exchanging ideas with other experts. It’s also a great place to relax from the hustle and bustle of the trade fair.

Click here to find out more about what to expect at the TNC Club Lounge at AMB

Apprentices hit the gas

Recruitment concerns are plaguing the machine-building industry, including small, family-owned operations all the way to large international corporations. At big trade shows, the Special Show for Young People is fighting this trend by motivating students to pursue apprenticeships in this field.


The apprentice training programs at HERMLE and HEIDENHAIN, as well as the Feintechnikschule Schwenningen (FTS) vocational school, have a special idea for AMB: they will be demonstrating the complete design and production process of a Formula 1 model race car.

Here is an outline of the entire project in photographs

Ganz nah am Anwender

Intelligent vernetzen – effizienter fräsen und drehen mit Connected Machining

Die durchgängig digital vernetzte Fertigung ist auch auf der AMB 2018 Thema Nr. 1 – bei HEIDENHAIN mit dem besonderen Fokus auf den Anwender in der Werkstatt. 

Das Funktionenpaket Connected Machining stellt den Anwender über die Steuerung seiner Fräs- oder Drehmaschine ins Zentrum des digitalen Auftragsmanagements.

Connected Machining in der Praxis

  • Schauen Sie sich PDF-, Bild- und CAD-Dateien direkt an der Steuerung an. Dafür genügt schon eine einfache Ethernet-Anbindung Ihrer HEIDENHAIN-Steuerung. Die notwendigen Viewer gehören zur Standardausstattung der Steuerung. 
  • Empfangen und senden Sie E-Mails direkt an der Steuerung oder nutzen Sie von der Steuerung aus Anwendungen und Daten im Netzwerk. Der REMOTE DESKTOP MANAGER ermöglicht einfach und bequem den Wechsel vom Steuerungsbildschirm zur Oberfläche eines Windows-PCs. 
  • Behalten Sie jederzeit den Überblick über den Status Ihrer Werkzeugmaschinen und Aufträge. Die Software StateMonitor gewährt Ihnen eine Echtzeitsicht auf die angebundenen Maschinen und erhöht die Transparenz Ihrer Prozesse. 
  • Ihr Fertigungsprozess läuft schneller als geplant? Dann muss Ihr Warenwirtschafts- und Leitstandsystem Bescheid wissen und z. B. die Logistik anpassen. Über die Schnittstelle HEIDENHAIN DNC binden Sie die Steuerung auch in diese Bereiche Ihrer vernetzten Fertigung ein.

Neu zur AMB: Extended Workspace Compact

Extended Workspace zeigt Ihnen parallel zum Bildschirm der HEIDENHAIN-Steuerung alle erforderlichen Informationen und Anwendungen an. Und das ab der AMB in zwei Varianten:

  • Auf einem 24”-Widescreen ist Extended Workspace Compact ein neuer Seitenbereich. Er ermöglicht die Sicht auf zusätzliche Informationen unmittelbar neben dem Steuerungsbildschirm.
  • Extended Workspace Comfort heißt zukünftig die bekannte Lösung mit einem zweiten Bildschirm neben oder oberhalb des eigentlichen Steuerungsbildschirms.

Mit beiden Lösungen arbeiten Sie im Netzwerk, ohne den laufenden Bearbeitungsprozess aus den Augen zu lassen.

Die Vorteile von Connected Machining

Connected Machining vernetzt die HEIDENHAIN-Steuerungen mit allen produktionsbegleitenden Bereichen im Unternehmen: 

  • individuell abgestimmt auf bereits bestehende Strukturen
  • offen für zukünftige Anforderungen und Entwicklungen

Sie profitieren von

  • Arbeitserleichterungen durch einfache Datennutzung
  • zeitsparenden Abläufen
  • transparenten, schlanken Prozessen
  • gesteigerter Produktivität

Verpassen Sie unsere Live-Vorführung nicht

10:30 Uhr und 13:30 Uhr

„Fräsen – Vielseitige Bearbeitung mit der TNC 640 durch leistungsfähige Technologien“

11:30 Uhr und 14:30 Uhr

„Drehen – Komplexe Bearbeitungen auf Knopfdruck mit der CNC PILOT 640“

Damit Sie Ihre Wunschvorführung nicht verpassen, haben wir einen SMS-Erinnerungsservice für Sie eingerichtet. Sie erhalten 30 Minuten vor Beginn der ausgewählten Live-Vorführung eine SMS, sodass Sie im Messetrubel genügend Zeit haben, zum HEIDENHAIN-Stand 2D03 in Halle 2 zu kommen.

Zum Erinnerungsservice

Helfer im Verborgenen – die neue Sensorbox für intelligenten Motorschutz

Durch eine unsymmetrische Stromverteilung in den Wicklungen von Torquemotoren besteht eine große Überhitzungsgefahr. In bestimmten Bearbeitungssituationen steigt die Temperatur einer einzelnen Wicklung so sprunghaft an, dass herkömmliche Überwachungssysteme nicht schnell genug reagieren können. Die Sensorbox EIB 5200 detektiert so einen sprunghaften Temperaturanstieg sehr rasch. 

Werkstatttrend Wälzschälen

Wälzschälen oder auch Skiving ist der aktuelle Bearbeitungstrend bei Innenverzahnungen. Der neue Zyklus „Zahnrad Wälzschälen“ für die TNC 640 macht die Programmierung der komplexen Abläufe ganz einfach. 

Und der Wälzschälzyklus kommt nicht allein. Auch für das Wälzfräsen, auch Hobbing genannt, und die Definition der Verzahnung gibt es werkstattorientierte Neuerungen.

Die neuen Verzahnungszyklen auf einen Blick: 

  • Zahnrad Wälzschälen
  • Zahnrad Wälzfräsen
  • Zahnrad definieren

Und das sind Ihre Vorteile:

  • einfache Programmierung
  • effiziente Bearbeitung im Fräs- und Drehbetrieb
  • sicherer Lift-off

Mehr Informationen

Startschuss auf der AMB 2018: Das neue Partnerprogramm Automatisierung

HEIDENHAIN-Steuerungen bringen alle Voraussetzungen für flexible Automatisierungslösungen in der Fertigung mit. Zusätzlich zu den langjährigen Aktivitäten im Automatisierungsgeschäft mit zahlreichen Werkzeugmaschinenherstellern bietet HEIDENHAIN deshalb ab sofort auch ein eigenes Partnerprogramm Automatisierung inklusive Online-Plattform an. 


HEIDENHAIN Partner Automation steht für Lösungen mit reibungslosen Abläufen zwischen Werkzeugmaschine und Robotern, Palettensystemen oder anderen Automatisierungsaufgaben. Auf der Online-Plattform finden Unternehmen, die eine Automatisierung planen, qualifizierte Partner und interessante Lösungsbeispiele für ihr Projekt und können auch Projektanfragen stellen. 

Zur Online-Plattform HEIDENHAIN Partner Automation

Entspannt informieren – willkommen in der TNC Club Lounge!

Die TNC Club Lounge von HEIDENHAIN ist Treffpunkt für alle TNC-Anwender, die sich exklusives Expertenwissen aneignen und mit anderen Experten austauschen möchten. Und gleichzeitig ein Ort der Entspannung mitten im Messetrubel.

Was Sie in der TNC Club Lounge auf der AMB erwartet, erfahren Sie hier. 

Azubis geben Vollgas

Nachwuchssorgen plagen den Maschinenbau vom kleinen Familienbetrieb bis hin zum großen internationalen Industrieunternehmen. Die Sonderschau Jugend wirkt dem entgegen, indem Auszubildende auf den großen Messen Schülerinnen und Schüler für eine Ausbildung begeistern.
Die Lehrwerkstätten von HERMLE und HEIDENHAIN sowie die Feintechnikschule Schwenningen (FTS) hatten für die AMB eine ganz besondere Idee: Sie zeigen die komplette Konstruktion und Produktion des Modells eines Formel 1-Rennwagens.

Das gemeinsame Projekt als Fotostory